Fastest Marathon Filed in Aus History!

The Sydney Marathon presented by ASICS has announced the fastest and most decorated elite field for the 2023 Sydney Marathon, to be run on Sunday, 17 September. The field’s experience in World Championship and World Marathon Majors racing will make it the fastest marathon pack assembled in Australian history, with homegrown and international talent battling it out on the event’s new marathon course.   

Minister for Jobs and Tourism John Graham said the Sydney Marathon was a world-class event with one of the most spectacular marathon courses anywhere in the world.

“Sydney leads the pack when it comes to venues to host a marathon. No city on earth has a better combination of natural beauty, a famous love of sport and iconic landmarks and it is an honour to host this elite field of international runners who will test themselves here in Sydney.

“The NSW Government is proud to support the push for Sydney Marathon to become a World Marathon Major. It is a great example of a high-participation community event that brings global attention and tourism benefits for the city and NSW.”  

The 2022 Men’s World Marathon Champion Tamirat Tola (ETH), will headline the men’s field; competing in Australia for the first time with a personal best of 2:03:39. Formidable contender Gabriel Geay (TAN), who placed 2nd at the 2023 Boston Marathon has the fastest personal best of the field at 2:03:00.  They will line up alongside Moses Kibet (KEN), Sydney Marathon’s defending champion and the current record holder for the fastest marathon time ever run in Australia.

Australia’s fastest ever marathoner, Brett Robinson (VIC), who broke Rob de Castella’s long-standing Australian Record in Fukuoka last year with a time of 2:07:31 will lead the homegrown elite field.

The 2022 World Marathon Championship runner-up and 2022 Paris Marathon Champion, Judith Jeptum Korir (KEN) will make her Australian debut at the Sydney Marathonwith a personal best of 2:18:20.  She will be chased by an impressive line-up of competitors who have recorded times under 2:23:00 including Nazret Weldu (ERI), Haven Hailu (ETH) and Angela Tanui (KEN) who has a blistering personal best time of 2:17:57. 

Australian Marathon record holder, Sinead Diver (VIC), who broke the Australian marathon record last year in Valencia with a time of 2:21:34 will lead the local elite field, making her Sydney Marathon debut for the first time in 2023.  

“We are thrilled to have assembled such a high calibre field for this year’s Sydney Marathon, as we head into our second year as a Candidate Race for the Abbott World Marathon Majors,” said Wayne Larden, Race Director, Sydney Marathon. “The presence of these exceptional runners is a testament to the event’s status as a world-class marathon for elite athletes, running enthusiasts and recreational runners alike, and we are confident that this year’s event will be nothing short of extraordinary.”

The Sydney Marathon and its candidacy for the Abbott World Marathon Majors series is supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.

Register now to secure early bird prices and your place on the start line on Sunday 17 September 2023 at


Tamirat Tola2:03:39Ethopia#3
Gabriel Geay2:03:00Tanzania#9
Amdemework Walelegn2:05:27Ethopia#22
Moses Kibet2:05:20Kenya#33
Brett Robinson2:07:31Australia#104


Judith Jeptum Korir2:18:04Kenya#3
Angela Tanui2:17:57Kenya#15
Nazret Weldu2:20:29Eritrea#16
Haven Hailu2:20:19Ethiopia#18
Sinead Diver2:21:34Australia#143